Who We Are

Founded in June of 2014, UnifiEd is a community-led movement of parents, teachers, and citizens who want every student in Chattanooga to have the chance to attend great public schools. We believe that if Chattanoogans are informed about how to help teachers and students, given the training and tools to advocate for them, and encouraged to unite our voices – we can create real and lasting change. Together, we can ensure that every student has the opportunity to learn, grow, thrive, and prosper.

What We Do

We empower individuals, families, teachers, and administrators to get involved, take action, and support community leaders who make education a priority. Whether it’s organizing a roundtable to get teachers talking about what they need to be successful, or giving community leaders access to data and tools to advocate for their school we work with everyone to have their voices heard. We empower students to work together to identify their own issues in their schools and their school system and advocate for lasting change. We have two high school student organizers on staff that work solely with their fellow students to raise student voice in decision making. We are committed to working with teachers to raise teacher voice in policy making decisions and processes. We have a teacher organizer that focuses on incorporating teacher voice in all of UnifiEd’s work and equipping educators with the tools they need to advocate for themselves. UnifiEd also serves as a hub of information about what’s happening within our school system. You can follow us on Twitter and Facebook to get up-to-the-minute reports on what’s on the agenda during Board of Education and County Commission meetings, giving you a direct line into the policy and budget changes that affect our students. We supply the facts, you help to make the change.

Meet The Team

Jonas Barriere, Executive Director

jonas@unifi-ed.org

Ashley Conrad, Director of Policy and Research

ashley@unifi-ed.org

Natalie Cook, Communications Director

natalie@unifi-ed.org

Michelle Dunn, Director of Educator Empowerment

michelle@unifi-ed.org

Keely Gilliland, Director of Operations

keely@unifi-ed.org

S. Prescott Harris II, Organizing Director

prescott@unifi-ed.org

Matt Johnson, Director of Student Engagement

matt@unifi-ed.org

Alexa C. LeBoeuf, Director of Community Outreach and Design

alexa@unifi-ed.org

Paul Norman, Director of Organizational Development

paul@unifi-ed.org

Alea Tveit, Research Assistant

DSCN2939

Demetrius Williams, Student Organizer

Demetrius.unified@gmail.com

De'Shayla Moore Caldwell, Student Organizer

De’Shayla Moore Caldwell, Student Organizer

deshayla.unified@gmail.com

DSCN2930

Drew Guinn, Student Organizer

DrewG.unified@gmail.com

DSCN2927

Taryn Robinson, Student Organizer

taryn.unified@gmail.com

Mikaila Rummage, Student Organizer

mikaila.unified@gmail.com

DSCN2929

Kadijah Tinker, Student Organizer

kadijah.unified@gmail.com

DSCN2936

Kalena Rodriguez, Student Organizer

kalena.unified@gmail.com

DSCN2933

Dereke Townsend, Student Organizer

dereke.unified@gmail.com

katie

Katie Stiffler, Field Team Fellow

katie.unified@gmail.com

DSCN2938

Destiny Reyes, SELI Fellow Intern

destinyslaw14@gmail.com

DSCN2941

Zeke Starr, Eichenthal Fellow Intern

zekedstarr@gmail.com

DSCN2916

Sara Plunket, Communications Intern

sara@unifi-ed.org

Meet The Board

Wonjen Bagley

Marcellus Barnes

Wayne Brown

David Eichenthal

Dr. Joyce Hardaway

Alison Lebovitz

Miranda Perez

Edna Varner

Justin Wilkins

Jeffrey Wilson