Who We Are

Founded in 2014, UnifiEd is a community-led movement of parents, teachers, and citizens who want every student in Hamilton County to have the chance to attend great public schools. We believe that if community members are informed about how to help teachers and students, given the training and tools to advocate for them, and encouraged to unite our voices – we can create real and lasting change. Together, we can ensure that every student has the opportunity to learn, grow, thrive, and prosper.

What We Do

We empower individuals, families, teachers, and administrators to get involved, take action, and support community leaders who make education a priority. Whether it’s organizing a roundtable to get teachers talking about what they need to be successful, or giving community leaders access to data and tools to advocate for their school we work with everyone to have their voices heard. We empower students to work together to identify their own issues in their schools and their school system and advocate for lasting change. We have two high school student organizers on staff that work solely with their fellow students to raise student voice in decision making. We are committed to working with teachers to raise teacher voice in policy making decisions and processes. We have a teacher organizer that focuses on incorporating teacher voice in all of UnifiEd’s work and equipping educators with the tools they need to advocate for themselves. UnifiEd also serves as a hub of information about what’s happening within our school system. You can follow us on Twitter and Facebook to get up-to-the-minute reports on what’s on the agenda during Board of Education and County Commission meetings, giving you a direct line into the policy and budget changes that affect our students. We supply the facts, you help to make the change.

Meet The Team

Jonas Barriere, Executive Director

jonas@unifi-ed.org

Ashley Conrad, Director of Policy and Research

ashley@unifi-ed.org

Natalie Cook, Communications Director

natalie@unifi-ed.org

Keely Gilliland, Director of Operations

keely@unifi-ed.org

Matt Johnson, Director of Student Engagement

matt@unifi-ed.org

DSCN2946

Meara Knowles, Director of Campaigns

meara@unifi-ed.org  

Alexa C. LeBoeuf, Director of Community Outreach and Design

alexa@unifi-ed.org

Paul Norman, Director of Organizational Development

paul@unifi-ed.org  

Alea Tveit, Research Assistant

Marrio Clark

Marrio, Student Organizer

Red Bank High School

marrio.unified@gmail.com

DSCN2930

Drew, Student Organizer

Soddy Daisy High School

DrewG.unified@gmail.com

Makayla, Student Organizer

Ooltewah High School

makayla.unified@gmail.com

Tyrese, Student Organizer

Chattanooga School for the Arts and Sciences

tyrese.unified@gmail.com

DSCN2936

Kalena, Student Organizer

STEM School

kalena.unified@gmail.com

Rachel, Student Organizer

Ooltewah High School

rachel.unified@gmail.com

DSCN2793 (1)

Mikaila, Student Organizer

Collegiate High

mikaila.unified@gmail.com

Chris Smith

Chris, Student Organizer

Red Bank High School

christopher.unified@gmail.com

Mari, Student Organizer

The Howard School

mari.unified@gmail.com

DSCN2929

Kadijah, Student Organizer

Lookout Valley High School

kadijah.unified@gmail.com

DSCN2933

Dereke, Student Organizer

Brainerd High School

dereke.unified@gmail.com

Abi Burgess, Graphic Design Intern

abi@unifi-ed.org

Letisha Ellison, Field Fellow

DSCN2971

Donivan Brown, Field Fellow

donivan@unifi-ed.org

DSCN2954

Felipe Lara, Field Fellow

felipe.unified@gmail.com

Meet The Board

Wonjen Bagley

Marcellus Barnes

Wayne Brown

David Eichenthal

Dr. Joyce Hardaway

20170718_AlisonLebovitz_0305-(ZF-9993-69703-1-001)

Alison Lebovitz

Miranda Perez

Edna Varner

Justin Wilkins

Jeffrey Wilson